## **ORDINANCE 2023-09-11(A)**

## TITLE III: ADMINISTRATION - CHAPTER 30: MAYOR AND CITY COUNCIL

## §30.15 LENGTH OF TERMS

In accordance with SDCL § 9-8-4.1, the City Council shall consist of the Mayor elected at large and six (6) Council members elected at large by the voters of the municipality. The Mayor's term of office shall be four (4) years. At the first election of Council members, the Council shall stagger the initial terms of the Council members to provide that all six (6) Council members are not up for reelection in the same year. To accomplish this, the initial term of office for three (3) Council members shall be two (2) years and the initial term of office for three (3) Council members shall be four (4) years. At every election thereafter, the term of office for all Council members shall be four (4) years. The Mayor and Council members shall hold office until successors are elected and qualified. A person may hold office for more than one term.

ATTEST:	WITNESS:	
Sheila K. Schatz, Finance Officer	William Wuttke, Mayor	

First Reading: September 11, 2023 Second Reading: October 2, 2023 Date Published: October 12, 2023